The National Endowment for the Humanities is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2004 National Humanities Medal awarded by President George W. Bush

Marva Collins
Gertrude Himmelfarb
Hilton Kramer
Madeleine L'Engle
Harvey Mansfield
John Searle
Shelby Steele
United States Capitol Historical Society

Because democracy demands wisdom, the National Endowment for the Humanities serves and strengthens our Republic by promoting excellence in the humanities and conveying the lessons of history to all Americans.

> Bruce Cole, Chairman Lynne Munson, Deputy Chairman

Please visit www.neh.gov for more information.